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Count, King & Robber w

A copy of CARCASSONNE is required to play this expansion.
You can integrate this entire expansion into the game,

or only parts of it if you choose. You can also combine
this expansion with any other CARCASSONNE expansions.

CONTENTS J : ™

* 2 large City tiles (2x3 tiles, each with different sides).
When placed together, they form the city of
Carcassonne,

* 1 Wooden Count

« 1 King Marker and 1 Robber Marker )

(Another set is included as spares)

* 1 KingTile and 1 Robber Tile

* 22 Land Tiles (indicated with a W, comprising:
5 Shrine tiles

5 land tiles
12 River II tiles
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This expansion offers two different ways to start the game: instead of using the
standard start tile or the River I, you can either use the two large City tiles to form
the city of Carcassonne or the River II as your starting point. Other than changing
which tile is placed first, these options have no impact on gameplay. In both cases,

return the standard start tile to the box before starting setup.
THE RIVER II ' )

1. Placing a River Tile

First, set aside the source (1), the fork (2), and

the lake (3). Shuffle the remaining river tiles and

place them facedown in a pile within easy reach of :
all players. Place the source on the table as the start tile, and place the lake
facedown at the bottom of the pile. The youngest player plays the fork
normally as the first tile, and play proceeds clockwise from there.
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Just like with The River from the base game, you must first draw
tiles from the River pile before drawing normal tiles. Place your
River tile at the end of one of the two rivers. As always, tiles
must be placed so that their edges match the edges of tiles
already in play. You cannot make a river turn twice in the

same direction, and you cannot connect both rivers together.

You can combine The River Il with The River from base This is not
game to make a very long river. Keep only one source and allowed!
one lake.

Do not use both The River 1l and The Count of Carcassonne. Combining the
two can lead to situations where the river cannot be completed.

2. Placing a Meeple

When you place a River tile, you can place a meeple on it normally. The river
itself is not a feature, and you cannot place a meeple on it.

If you place the last River tile (the lake with the volcano), you
cannot place a meeple on that tile. Immediately after placing it,
take another turn by drawing the top normal tile.

The inn and the volcano on the River follow the rules from their expansions

(7 and 3, respectively). The pigsty has the same effect as a pig in a field ,’-‘ -
(Expansion 2). If you are playing without these expansions, simply ignore &
these features.

THE CITY OF CARCASSONNE AND THE COUNT OF CARCASSONNE ‘
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Place the two City tiles
together in the center of the
play area. One side shows the
city with flags, the other
without. If you want to use the
city as a starting tile with no
effects, use the side without
flags. The flags are used to
identify the city districts:

1. The castle

2. The market

3. The blacksmith
4. The cathedral

Place the Count of Carcassonne on the castle.




1. Placing a Tile

If you place a tile next to the large City tiles, your tile's edge must match the City
tile's edge, and it must be aligned with the white grid of the City tiles.

2. Placing a Meeple in the City of Carcassonne

When you complete a feature during your turn, if at least one of your
opponents gains points and you gain none, you may place a meeple in one of
the four city districts (even if the Count s in that district). Then, you may
move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.

You (Red player) complete
this city. Blue scores 4 points
and you score none. You
decide to place a meeple in
the cathedral in Carcassonne.

Even if you complete more than one feature, you can place a maximum of
one meeple in the city of Carcassonne per turn.

You can only place your Abbot in the cathedral in Carcassonne.

3. Scoring a Feature — Moving Meeples from Carcassonne

When a feature (city, road, monastery, or shrine) is completed, before it is
scored, all players may remove their meeples from the matching district and
place them in the feature that is about to be scored, even if doing so would
exceed the maximum of 1 meeple per feature.

K x|
From the castle From the blacksmith From the cathedral

to a city. to a road. to a monastery or
shrine.

The districts and where meeples in them are placed:

You cannot remove meeples from a district with the Count in it. Even if a
completed feature would allow them to be removed, the meeples in that
district must stay there until the count is moved out. The Count is always in
exactly one district and never leaves the city of Carcassonne.

When you complete a feature, the player to your left can remove as many of
his or her meeples as he or she would like from the matching district and place
them on the feature that was just completed. Going clockwise and ending with
you, each player repeats this process. The feature is then scored as normal, and
all players return any of their meeples on that feature to their supply.




You complete the road. Blue decides not to remove
any meeples from the blacksmith. You remove 2
meeples and place them on the road, giving you
control. You gain 3 points and Blue gains none.
Meeples that were not removed stay in their district. Meeples placed in a district
remain there until removed and placed on a matching feature.

When you place the last tile (ending the game), the player to
your left must remove one of his or her meeples from the

" market to one of the fields. This process continues in turn
order until all meeples in the market have been removed and
placed in a field. If the count is in the market when the last tile
is placed, no meeples are removed.

During final scoring, any meeples left in the other districts do nothing. The city
of Carcassonne counts as a city worth 3 points in its field.

KING & ROBBER @ )
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SETUP

Place the King and Robber tiles and their matching markers as a general
supply within easy reach of all players.

3. Scoring a Feature

The King

As soon as you complete the first city (except the city of Carcassonne, if
you are playing with those tiles), place the King marker on that city and
place the King tile in front of you. It does not matter if you scored points
for that city, only that you completed it. If a player completes a bigger
city (i.e., one with more tiles), that player takes the King tile and moves
the token to the bigger city. The marker must always be placed on the
biggest city (except the city of Carcassonne). If you have the King tile
during final scoring, you gain 1 point per completed city (including the
city of Carcassonne, if you are playing with those tiles).

The Robber

The Robber tile works just like the King tile, but for roads instead of cities. If
you have the Robber tile during final scoring, you gain 1 point per
completed road.




THE CULTISTS
Shuffle the five Shrine tiles with the other Land tiles.

1. Placing a Shrine Tile

Shrine tiles cannot be placed adjacent to more than one monastery, and
monasteries cannot be placed adjacent to more than one shrine. Shrine tiles
are otherwise placed normally.

2, Placing a Meeple as a Heretic

When you place a shrine, you can place your meeple normally, or you can
place a meeple as a heretic on the shrine. If you place a heretic adjacent to a
monk, both meeples challenge each other (challenges are described below in
3. Scoring a feature). It is possible for two of your own meeples to challenge
each other.

Otherwise, the shrine behaves like a monastery. You can place your abbot on
the Shrine.

3, Scoring a Feature

A shrine is scored when it is surrounded by other
tiles. A completed shrine is worth 9 points. In case
of a challenge, the first completed feature is
worth 9 points. The other feature, when it is
completed, is worth 0 points. If both features are
completed at the same time, both are worth 9
points. In all cases, both the monk and the heretic
are returned to their respective supplies. Meeples
in the cathedral may be removed and placed on a
shrine when it is completed.

You (Red player) place your
Final Scoring tile and complete your shrine.
At the end of the game, any unresolved challenges ~ You gain 9 points, and Blue
(i.e., incomplete monasteries and shrines) are will gain 0 points for the
ignored. All players involved score points for their ~1"stery when it is

. ; . completed. Both meeples are
incomplete monasteries and shrines as normal. . .
returned to their respective

supplies.

NEW LAND TILES

Shuffle the five new Land tiles with those from the base game and stack

them normally. The tile to the right shows two city segments: one goes

from the top to the bottom of the tile, while the other goes from left to | ¥ 58
right, across the bridge. ‘




Rules for Using This Expansion with Other Expansions

Refer to this page when questions come up about how this expansion interacts with
other expansions. Until then, you can skip this page and start playing!
THE RIVER 11 e SIS
Exp. 2: The pigsty increases the value of its field by 1 point per completed city. This
bonus is in addition to the points given by the pig.
Exp. 3: Immediately after placing the lake with volcano, place the dragon on it.

‘| THE CITY OF CARCASSONNE AND THE COUNT OF CARCASSONNE
The following figures can be placed in a district of the city of Carcassonne:
Exp. 1: Large meeple
Exp. 5: Wagon (not in the market), Mayor (only in the castle)
Exp. 10: Ringmaster
Further clarifications:
Exp. 2: If you take a double turn with the builder, you can place a meeple in the
city of Carcassonne during both turns.
Exp. 3: You cannot move the dragon or the fairy into the city of Carcassonne.
You cannot move a meeple into the city of Carcassonne with a magic portal.
Exp. 4: You cannot capture meeples in the city of Carcassonne with a tower.
Exp. 5: You can use meeples from the market during a barn scoring. The city of
Carcassonne counts as a city when scoring a barn.
Exp. 9: You cannot place your shepherd in the city of Carcassonne.

ﬁ KING SN L
Exp. 1: The king does not score bonus points for a cathedral in a completed city.
Exp. 8: A castle does not count as a completed city for the king.

ROBBER _—a L

Exp. 1: The robber does not score bonus points for an inn on a completed road.

THE CULTISTS e SIS
You can use the following figures on shrines:
Exp. 1: Large meeple.
Exp. 5: Wagon. A monk in an abbey can challenge a heretic in a shrine.
Exp. 9: Vineyard rules are the same for shrines as they are for monasteries.
Exp. 10: Ringmaster.
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