
Arkham Horror Frequently  
Asked Questions

The following are frequently asked questions about 
the Arkham Horror Roleplaying Game and 
its supplements. The FAQ is organized by general 

system questions, followed by question specific to each 
product. This is version 1.1. As this document is updated, 
the most recent updates appear in red. 

General System Questions

Question: What happens when a character is wounded 
(their dice pool limit is reduced to 0) and they suffer dam-
age? For example, an investigator has been wounded and 
is then attacked again before they have a chance to strain 
themselves and restore their dice pool limit. Do they suffer 
no damage? 

Answer: This is an area of the rules with some flexibility. 
Characters who are wounded cannot have their dice pool 
limit brought below zero, so while they do suffer damage 
as normal, it doesn’t have its normal effect. However, if a 
wounded character suffers damage, the GM has the dis-
cretion to do one of the following: 

If the character is not important to the ongoing story, 
such as an NPC with the Major NPC rule but little nar-
rative significance like an unnamed eldritch monster, the 
GM can decide that if they suffer damage while wounded, 
they are killed or incapacitated instead. This is especially 
appropriate if the current structured encounter would 
otherwise be over. 

If the character is an important named NPC or an 
investigator, then the GM can decide that if they suffer 
damage while wounded, they suffer an injury instead. We 
especially recommend this for investigators (player char-
acters) as this makes them less likely to suffer an ignomin-
ious death. 

Question: Can you split a Move simple action? For 
example, since the Move action lets a character move 10 
feet, can they move 5 feet, perform another action, then 
move the remaining 5 feet?

Answer: No. The Move simple action lets a character 
move up to 10 feet. So, if a character moves less than 10 feet, 
they have still performed a full Move simple action. More 
importantly, a character must complete one action before 

performing their next action. So in the previous simple 
action, the character would move 5 feet by performing a 
Move simple action, perform another action, then move 5 
feet by performing a second Move simple action.

Question: What is this symbol? 

Answer: This symbol represents 
one of the spaces for dice in a char-
acter’s dice pool. The total number of 
symbols is the dice pool maximum 
for a character. The symbols can be 
used by setting actual dice on top of them to indicate how 
many dice are in the pool (and by setting tokens on them 
to represent damage or horror). Or they can be used sim-
ply as an indicator of how big the character’s dice pool is. 

Question: A character cannot perform the same com-
plex action more than once during a single turn in a struc-
tured scene. How does this work with performing attacks? 
Does this mean a character can only make one attack?

Answer: No, a character can make multiple attacks. 
However, they can only attack the same target with the 
same weapon once. So, if a character has two pistols, they 
can shoot a monster once with one pistol, then once with 
another pistol. And if a character is facing two monsters, 
they can shoot each monsters once with one pistol and 
once with the other pistol. A character could even shoot a 
monster with a pistol, then run up and punch the monster 
with their fist. (Although that might end up badly for the 
character!)

Question: When asked to divide something in the game, 
do you round up or round down?

Answer: You should always round up by default. 



Question: Can you perform a complex action with both 
advantage and disadvantage? 
Answer: Yes! You can perform an action with both, and 
they do not cancel each other out. You simply add two 
additional dice to the role, and after rolling remove both 
the highest result and the lowest result. 

Question: Can horror dice be spent to perform simple 
actions? Also, can characters leave horror dice unspent in 
their pool? 
Answer: Except for their specific exceptions, horror dice 
function as normal dice. This means you can spend them 
to perform simple actions, or you can choose not to spend 
them at all! Of course, the greater your horror dice limit 
grows, the harder it is to avoid rolling them...

Hungering Abyss Starter Set
Question: The Seal and Puzzle Box puzzles have two 
ways to generate “moves” to solve them. One involves a 
complex action during structured scenes, where each suc-
cess generates moves. The second is performing a simple 
action in a narrative scene to gain moves without rolling. 
However, normally you don’t have to spend dice to per-
form simple actions during narrative scenes. 
Answer: This is normally correct. However, there are 
exceptions to the rule about not spending dice to perform 
simple actions during narrative scenes. This is one. 
Question: What happens if  the party runs out of dice 
and does not solve the puzzle by the end of the scene? 
Answer: If this happens, the party has a choice. In some 
cases, such as the puzzle box, they can simply leave with-
out solving it (as no single clue is required to complete the 
adventure successfully). In other cases, such as the barrier 
puzzle, the party can spend more time trying to solve it. 
This involves beginning a new scene so their dice pools 
refresh, and means they spend another hour or so trying to 
figure it out. A GM can add consequences for the delay; for 
example, if the investigators cannot solve the barrier puz-
zle quickly, the ghoul priest may return with more ghouls. 



Arkham Horror Errata

With each printing, we strive to update and cor-
rect any issues that have become apparent in 
our products. This document collects all cor-

rections that have been made since the first printing of 

each product. More recent printings of each product may 
have had some off these changes made in their text. This is 
version 1.1. As this document is updated, the most recent 
updates appear in red. 

Hungering Abyss Starter Set

Main Book
Page 12: At the end of the first paragraph, add the follow-
ing sentence: “An investigator may only perform the exact 
same complex action once during a narrative scene, or 
once per turn during a structured scene.” 

Page 18: Under Attacks and Damage, change “The target 
reduces their dice pool limit by the result off the calcula-
tion. If the result is less than zero, the dice pool limit does 
not change” to “The target reduces their dice pool limit by 
the result of the calculation, and if they reduce it below the 
number of dice they currently have in their pool, they must 
discard dice until the number equals the new limit.” 

Page 18: Under Attacks and Damage, change “If they 
choose to strain themselves, the character’s dice pool limit 
is healed up to their original dice pool maximum and they 
then suffer one injury.” to “If a character chooses to strain 
themselves, they restore their dice pool limit to their dice 
pool maximum. Then, at the end of the current turn, they 
suffer one injury.” 

Page 19: Under Injuries, change “the effects of some inju-
ries are temporary, while those of others are permanent: 
a deep cut can heal, but a lost limb cannot regrow” to 
“Normally, injuries are either temporary (like a deep cut) 
or permanent (a lost limb), but for the purposes of this 
adventure all of the injuries that investigators can suffer 
are able to be healed through some means as listed on the 
Injury Results table (except for the Dead result).” 

Page 39: Under Ye Olde Magick Shoppe, change the fol-
lowing sentence “…purchase useful tools, though only a 
character with the Lore skill (like Daisy Walker and Agnes 
Baker) can purchase spells.” to “…purchase useful tools.” 

Page 39: Under River Docks, add the following weapon 
for sale. “Bowie Knife: 3 dollars (1 available).” 

Page 42: Under Scene 9: Before the Finale, change “Ruth 
Turner’s autopsy notes (Key Evidence #1) suggest that 
whatever is happening, it’s going on underground” to 
“Ruth Turner’s autopsy notes (Key Evidence #1) suggest 
that whatever is happening, it’s going on in the woods.” 

GM Board
Trauma Table: In Column 1, Row 1, change the text to 
“Roll 1D6 (Add 1 for each result of 1 rolled on a horror die 
for this check)” 

NPC Sheets
Multiple Sheets: All instances of the Minor NPC abil-
ity should be changed to “Minor NPC: This NPC cannot 
strain themselves, and if they become wounded, they are 
killed or knocked unconscious at the GM’s discretion.” 
Multiple Sheets: All instances of the Major NPC abil-
ity should be changed to “Major NPC: This NPC may 
strain themselves once per structured scene. If this NPC is 
wounded after they strain themselves once, they are killed 
or knocked unconscious at the GM’s discretion.” 
Nightgaunt, Ghoulish Cultist: Add the Minor 
NPC ability (as defined in the previous entry) to 
these sheets. 
Bob, Ghoul Priest, Peter Warren, Billy Cooper, 
Narôgath the Charnel Lord, Agnes Baker, Lita 
Chantler: Add the Major NPC ability (as defined in 
the previous entry) to these sheets. 
Ghoul Priest: The sentence “a number of targets that 
they can perceive equal to the number” should be changed 
to “a number of targets that they can perceive up to 
the number”. 



Umordhoth’s Tentacles: The Slithering Retreat 
ability should be changed to “Slithering Retreat: This 
NPC cannot strain themselves. If this tentacle becomes 
wounded, it retreats into its pit. If it is grappling a charac-
ter, it throws them. The thrown character must perform 
a reaction using Agility. If they fail, they collide with a 
nearby wall or column and suffer 2 damage and an injury.” 


