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AIR RULES IN OVERLORD

OVERVIEW OF USING THE AIR PACK

When using the Air Pack in Overlord scenarios, all of the Air Pack rules for standard scenarios apply, with the
following modifications:

» If the Overlord scenario being played makes no reference to the Air Pack in its Special Rules section, and
both camps still wish to use the Air Pack for the battle, then each Commander-

in-Chief receives one Air Sortie card at the start of the game.
As in a standard scenario, Air Sortie cards drawn or

received before the start of the game do not count
toward the Commander-in-Chief’s total hand

size of Command cards. If an Air Sortie card is
drawn, the Commander-in-Chief places it face-

up, next to his camp but visible to the others, and
draws a new Command card for his hand. This

procedure continues until a non-Air Sortie card is
drawn, though this won’t happen very often.
During his turn, the Commander-in-Chief may give an Air

Sortie card (alone, or in combination with a Section card!) to

any of his Field Generals. The Air Sortie is never played directly by the

Commander-in-Chief himself.
The Air Sortie card counts as one card toward the total of up to three cards the Commander-in-Chief may
play during his turn. It also counts as one card toward the maximum of two cards a Field General may
receive and play during this turn.
The Air Sortie may not be given to the Field General if that general also receives another Tactic card this
turn. But it can be given (and played) along with a Section card, if desired.
When playing the card, the Field General is subject to the same rules and limitations regarding the play of
the Air Sortie as if he was playing with the Air Pack rules in a standard scenario.
Among other things, this means that if an Airborne Airplane is already in either of the Field General’s two
sections at the start of the turn, he will not be able to play an Air Sortie to bring a second Airplane into
either of the sections under his control - though he may still play the Air Sortie to activate the Airborne
Airplane in his control without an Air Check! Alternatively, the player may opt to let his Airplane disappear
off the board and initiate a new Air Sortie with a fresh Airplane instead.
A Field General who has not received any Command card this turn and decides to act of his own initiative
may order an Airplane already present in one of his two sections to take off or remain airborne, if he rolls
a Star.
When two Airplanes begin a turn in the same section of the board, as a result of a Field General flying his
Airplane into his neighboring Field General’s section during the course of the previous turn, one of these
Airplanes will automatically be removed (unless on a split hex across the two Field General’s sections).
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AIR PACK USE

Q. If the Air Pack symbol is at the top of the scenario page, but nothing is
said in the special rules, do both players get one Air Sortie card (if they
agree to use Air Rules)?

A. The Air Pack symbol may just indicate that some terrain from the Air Pack
is being used. If the special rules don’t say anything about the Air Rules, the
scenario was not designed for the Air Rules and they were not used for play
testing, so it may change the balance in an unexpected way. The goal is to have fun
though, so if both players want to use the Air Rules, each player gets one Air Sortie card.

QUESTIONS



AIR PACK IN EASTERN FRONT

Q. Can the Air Sortie card be played on its own, in lieu of the pre-programmed card when using Russian
Command rules? i.e. the pre-programmed card remains in place this turn, as it does if a Recon 1 card is
played from the hand.

A. Yes. Note: Air Sortie equivalents (the Air Power card and Recon 1 cards when Air Strikes are available)
must be played from the Commissar Chip like normal cards.

AIR SORTIE WITH RECON 1

Q. When a Commander-in-Chief draws an Air Sortie card, | understand that it is placed face up next to the card
holder and another card is drawn immediately. If an Air Sortie card is drawn after a Recon 1 card is played,
how does this work?

A. In Overlord, if the Commander-in-Chief gives a Recon 1 card to a Field General as one of his cards, he is
then permitted to draw 3 cards and keep them all to replenish his hand instead of the usual limit of 2 cards.
If an Air Sortie card is drawn as one of the three cards, he will immediately place it face up next to his card
holder and draw another card until he has a total of 3 non-Air Sortie cards to add to his hand. Note: The
Air Power card is not placed face up because it is an Air Sortie equivalent and counts as one of the three
standard cards in a draw.

Q. In scenarios where a Recon 1 may be used as an Air Sortie Equivalent, does the
Commander-in-Chief or the Field General decide which way the card will be used?
A. If a Recon 1 is given to the Field General, the Field General should make the choice.

AIR RULES IN OVERLORD

AIR POWER IN OVERLORD

Q. When using Air Rules in an Overlord game, is the Air Power card played by the Commander-in-Chief or is it
handed to a Field General to initiate an air action in his sector?

A. The Commander-in-Chief may never play Air Power or Air Sortie cards from his hand. Both cards must be
given to Field Generals. Note: A Field General could receive a Section card to play with an Air Sortie but
must play Air Power alone. This is different from Overlord without Air Rules, where Air Power is played
directly by the Commander-in-Chief.

Q. When using the Overlord deck or two regular decks, there are two Air Power cards. Can the Commander-in-
Chief play both of these on the same turn, giving them to separate Field Generals?
A. Yes.

AIRPLANE BEHAVIOR IN OVERLORD

Q. Do Airplanes in an Overlord battle leave the battlefield like normal if they are not ordered ?
A. Yes.

Q. Can an Airplane move into a section with another Airplane, and both Airplanes end their turn in the same
section as a result?
A. Yes, but on the next turn, the Field General in charge of
the Section containing both Airplanes would only be able to
order one. The other Airplane would fly off the board and be
removed like normal.

Q. If an Airplane is in a “split-hex” that counts as being in two
sections, does it count as being in both sections for purposes
of deploying a new Airplane into either section?

A. The two Field Generals concerned would have to agree
who commands the Airplane in the split-hex this turn,
and only the one without control of this Airplane could
contemplate bringing a new Airplane in his section this turn if
that option was available.
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COMMANDER-IN-CHIEF

Q. If a Commander-in-Chief has multiple Air Sortie cards, can he hand them out on the first turn?
A. Yes, but remember that the Commander-in-Chief does not get to replace Air Sortie cards at the turn’s end.

Q. Could a Commander-in-Chief, in a situation with multiple Air Sortie cards, give Field Generals an Air Sortie
card and a section card on the first turn if he wanted to?
A. Only if the total number of cards the Commander-in-Chief hands out
does not exceed 3 cards on a turn, because Air Sortie cards count
toward the total number of cards the a Commander-in-Chief plays on
the turn.

FIELD GENERALS

Q. Can a Field General receive an Air Sortie card along with a Section
card, and play them together?
A. Yes.

. Could a Field General receive an Air Sortie card and a Tactic card in
the same turn?
. No, never.

. Can a Field General receive an Air Power card and a Section card in
the same turn?

. No. A Field General who gets an Air Power card may never receive another card that turn because it is a
Tactic card and only an Air Sortie equivalent. As noted above, if a Field General gets an Air Sortie card, he
(or she) may also get a Section card to play with it.
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Q. Can each Field General control one Airplane?
A. Yes.

Q. If a Field General is not issued any cards, acts on his own initiative, and rolls a Star can he order an Airplane
that is already on the board in one of his two sections?
A. Yes.

MULTIPLE AIRPLANES

Q. If players owned 3 Air Packs and they are playing an Overlord game, could they have 6 Airplanes in the field,
3 on each side?

A. Yes, or even if they own less than 3 Air Packs because Air Sortie and Air Power can be played again once
the deck is reshuffled. Note: Players would still be limited to using Airplanes that were available to their nation
at that time during the war.

PICKING AIRPLANES

Q. Which Airplanes can you
bring onto the board?

A. The Air Pack rule book and
Airplane reference cards
tell you which Planes
are available to which
nations, depending on
the date of the scenario.
Players can only bring on
planes that were available
to them during that time of
the war.

QUESTIONS




AIR RULES FOR OVERLORD SCENARIOS

BASTOGNE OVERLORD
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.
» The Air Power card must be played as an Artillery Bombard
Tactic card instead: “Issue an order to all Artillery units.

Units may move up to 3 hexes or battle twice”. WBC 2005 - Online Release

THE CADETS OF SAUMUR
» Air rules are optional: If used, shuffle two Air Sortie cards
into the deck, at game start.
» The Allied player may not play any Air Power card (nor any
Air Sortie, if Air Rules are used). When he draws an Air
Power or Air Sortie card, he immediately discards it and

draws a replacement card instead. #

THE CAPTURE OF TOBRUK
» Air rules are in effect. Give the Axis player both Air Sortie
cards at game start. Place a British Ready-to-Take-Off
marker on the Airfield.

#4

DISASTER AT DIEPPE
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and are not used in this mission.

#4

HEDGEROW HELL
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.

#1

MOYLAND WOOD OVERLORD
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.

Online Release

OMAHA BEACH OVERLORD
» Air rules are optional: If used, give the Allied player one Air
Sortie card and shuffle remaining Air Sortie card(s) into
the deck, at game start.
» Allied Airplanes must be either Spitfires or P-40s. Axis

Airplanes can only be Me-109s or Storches.
35
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OPERATION MARKET GARDEN
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.

PELELIU LANDINGS OVERLORD
» Air rules are optional: If used, give the Allied player one Air
Sortie card and shuffle remaining Air Sortie card(s) into
the deck, at game start.
» Allied Airplanes must be either Corsairs or P-40s. Axis
Airplanes can only be Zeros.

PROKHOROVEKA OVERLORD
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and are not used in this mission.

RATS IN A FACTORY
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.

RZHEV OVERLORD
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.

SWORD BEACH OVERLORD
» Air rules are optional: If used, give the Allied player one Air
Sortie card and shuffle remaining Air Sortie card(s) into
the deck, at game start.
» Allied Airplanes must be either Spitfires or P-40s. Axis
Airplanes can only be Me-109s or Storches.

SWORD OF STALINGRAD
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and are not used in this mission.
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TIGERS IN THE SNOW
» Air rules are not in effect. The Air Sortie cards are set aside
and not used in this mission.

#2
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