many a campaign, you thougbt tbat the lands
around Camelot bad no more secrets in store,
and that vanquisbing the forces of Evil might become
mere child's play.
Vou could not bave been more wrong. Better put your
sword to the forge and sharpen your blade once again
- for new threats are gathering in the mists of Avalon...

Scouts are returning with stories of a coven of witches
whose dark magic and nefarious schemes threaten the
Ringdom. €ven the most well-traveled roads to Camelot
no longer offer safe passage.

Thankfully in these darkest of times, there are new
knigbts still brave enough (or is it fool-bardy?) to join
the Round Table, and Merlin bimself bas seen fit to
begin meddling in the kingdom's affairs...

Are you a knight wbo will rest on your laurels,
surrendering to the coming darkness, fading in the
shadows that can only lead to treason and treachery?
Or will you step forward, beart ready and sword at
vour side, to pledge allegiance to the King and join us
on this beroic journey?

Welcome to Merlin's Company, an expansion for the
Shadows over Camelot™ board game. To play, you must

have a copy of the original game.

@omponents

This expansion consists of:

® A figure of Merlin - a new independent
character on the board, who may sweep in

: at times of dire need to aid your cause.

z e _ Merlin

s a battle-tested Rnight with the experience of JiE :

original 7 kmghts of the ongmal game
(King Arthur excepted, of course, as [ 4
there can only be one true king!) E

® 63 New cards:

- A new deck of Loyalty cards, in-
cluding 1 additional Traitor card

g Fll |

Loyal

9 Loyalty cards Traitor

- 16 New Travel cards, featuring
events that might occur as you
travel from Quest to Quest

- 14 Black cards, including 7 new 16 Red s Travel
Special Black cards - all witches al-

lied to Morgan - to ensure a mix of new and old threats
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14 Black cards 7 Standard 7 Special

- 93 White cards, including 8 new Special White cards -
much needed beneficial events to supplement those in your

original game
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Merlin
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28 White cards

Blue card

15 Standard

8 Special

- And a Summary card for Merlin

® This expansion also includes a bonus figure of
Sir Bedivere, a now hard to find promotional
figure that was introduced at the original
game's launch and, for the first time, a copy
of his oft-requested official Coat of Arms and
colored die.
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Sir Bedivere |
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Modifications
to the oridinal 8ame set-ap

Before beginning to set up your game using Merlin's
Company:

¢ Shuffle the 16 new Travel cards included in the expansion
to form a Travel deck, and place it off the board, within
easy reach of the players.

® Place the figure of Merlin next to the Travel deck.
Merlin won't enter the board until the first Merlin Travels
card is drawn from the Travel deck sometime during the
course of the game.

® Add the 14 Black cards included in this expansion to
the Black cards of the original game

® Add the 23 White cards included in this expansion to
the White cards of the original game

Some of the new White and Black cards included in this expansion
are identical to some of the cards that came with the original game,
but it does not matter if differences in wear and tear between your
old deck and these new cards are visible or not. You will never
know whether a new card is not just an old one with a fresher
back. These apparent redundancies help preserve the balance of
effects and proportions in the now larger White and Black decks.

Each card in this expansion is also marked with an "M" &%
to help you quickly sort cards out at the end of the game. §
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Then proceed with the game's normal set-up as described on

pages 6 and 7 of the original Shadows over Camelot rule-
book.

Beven New Iknidhts

In Merlin's Company, due to his unique stature, King Arthur
is always present. Assign his Coat of Arms at random to one
of the players before proceeding further.

When the time comes to draw Knights (Step 5 of the origi-
nal game set-up), you may now either:

® Replace the entire set of Knight's Coat of Arms that
came with the original game (including Sir Bedivere,
but excluding King Arthur who is already assigned)
with the 7 new Knights included in Merlin's Com-
pany: Sir Bors, Sir Caradoc, Sir Gaheris, Sir Gareth, Sir
Geraint, Sir Lamorak and Sir Owain, before drawing
Knights at random from this new set of Coat of Arms;

® Or select the Knight of your choice (old or new), pro-
vided that no two Knights be of the same Coat of
Arms' color (i.e. if a player selects Sir Gaheris and his
yellow Coat of Arms, then Sir Galahad cannot be in
the game). Use the Knight figure that matches the color
of your Coat of Arms to represent you on the board.

Merlin

The wise old wizard is now a full-blown inde-
pendent character in the game, complete with
his own figure. Merlin starts the game off the
board; once certain events occur (see Travels &
The Travel Deck), Merlin moves onto the
board and starts traveling from Quest to Quest,
lending help to the Knights as follows:

[ Merlin

® Once during each player's turn, when his Knight is
present on the same Quest as Merlin, the player may
choose to draw a White card from the draw pile. This
draw is a free Action and does not count toward the
Knight's Heroic Action(s) for the turn.

® |n addition, whenever Merlin travels to a Quest that is
no longer in play (Quests for Excalibur, the Holy Grail,
and Lancelot & the Dragon), the drawing of a corre-
sponding Black card does not trigger the addition of a
Siege Engine around Camelot; instead, the Black card
drawn is discarded, with no further effect.

@ravels &
Fhe Fravel Deck

The roads around Camelot have become uncertain and
dangerous. Unlike in the original game, moving from
Quest to Quest is no longer a sure thing for the Knights...

Each time a Knight chooses to Move to a new Quest as
a Heroic Action during his turn or through the use of his
Special Power (Sir Tristan), he must:

o first declare where he wishes to move;

® then draw a Travel card from the top of the Travel Deck
and apply its effect before potentially completing his
move and reaching his intended destination.

All other moves in the game, such as those triggered by the
completion of a Quest, or those made out of turn, in reac-
tion to the play of a Special White or Black card, do not trig-
ger the draw of a Travel card, and are still governed by the
same rules as in the original game. It is only those moves
made by the Knight as a Heroic Action during his turn or
through the use of his Special Power that are modified.

® |f the Travel card drawn is a Nothing Hap-
pens card, then... nothing extraordinary
happens! The Knight completes his move
and successfully reaches the Quest of his
choice. Gameplay resumes as normal.

® |f the Travel card drawn is a Merlin Travels
card, the Knight successfully reaches the
Quest of his choice and Merlin's figure is
moved to his side on this new Quest. Because
Merlin is not a Knight, he is allowed to travel
to join a Knight on any Quest, including a
Solo Quest (Black Knight, Lancelot).

I




® |f the Travel card drawn is a Vision card,
the Knight becomes so inspired by the vision
of the Grail that he moves to that Quest, in-
stead of his intended destination. If the Grail
Quuest is no longer in play, the Vision has no
effect and the Knight may complete his move
as if he had drawn Nothing Happens.

® |f the Travel card drawn is a
Charged!, Lost! or Ambushed!
card, the Knight must success-
fully complete the challenge de-
scribed on that card or suffer the
consequences and immediately
end his turn.

® |f the Travel card drawn is a Captured!
card, the Knight is captured and held for
ransom. He remains in place and can no
longer play (place the Captured! card under
the Knight's figure, to remember this) until
one of his companion Knights spends one
of his Heroic Actions to discard a Special White card
and free up the hapless Knight! Note that a Knight can-
not free himself, nor participate in any game action (card
exchange, etc...) until freed by another participant. If an
unmasked Traitor is still captured at game end, he can-
not reveal himself, nor turn White swords into Black
ones. So one must be careful not to unwittingly free up
a Traitor, nor unwittingly keep a fellow Loyal Knight
out of action!

Once the effects of a Travel card have been completed,
place it in a discard pile. If theTravel deck runs out,
shuffle all the discarded Travel cards to form a
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new deck. Do NOT reshuffle the Travel deck in any other in-
stance, such as when instructed to reshuffle the Black and
White draw and discard piles.

sposing of Jdlack cards
Fop aests no longer in play

When Black cards are drawn that relate to a Quest that is
no longer in play (Quests for Excalibur, the Holy Grail,
and Lancelot & the Dragon), they are now permanently re-
moved from the game, rather than discarded. Thus they

cannot appear in subsequent reshuffles of the decks during

the game. Drawing such a card still leads to the addition of
a Siege Engine around Camelot, whenever applicable.

g and 3 player Sames:
wo @raitors!

With Merlin's Company, the game now accommodates
up to 8 players (7 Knights & King Arthur). This comes with
a price though: in 7 and 8 player games, you will now add
the second Traitor card you received to the mix of Loyalty
cards, at the start of the game.

The two Traitors do not know who the other might be, or
even if another one is present in the group or not. At game's
end, if there is one undiscovered Traitor, he will have to

turn over 2 White Swords to the Black side. If there are
two undiscovered Traitors, they now turn over 3

White Swords to the Black side! If they win, they
revel together in their treachery...

Special thanks to all the valiant Knights
who have roamed both near and far in support
of this realm of Camelot, bringing many

a new Squire into this adventure...
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APPENDIX

The Craitor

Play per the ariginal game rules. Also see 7 and
8 player games: Two Traitors! in this rulebook.

The Travel Deck

Merlin Travels x5 Nothing Vision x1

Happens x3

Hdditional Standard
Black cards

Excalibur x2 Mercenaries x1

Picts x1 Saxons x1

Morgan's Seven thcbes

1t WITCH (1 card)

Triggers an immediate reshuffle of
the Black and White draw and discard
piles (but not the Travel deck!).

2" WITCH (1 card)
Until a new Quest is won, the Knights:

- can no longer sacrifice a Life point during

their Progression of Evil Phase;

- can no longer sacrifice a Life point to gain an

additional Heroic action

-‘s prived of his Special Power

{ ) - and Sir Caradac is also temporarily de-

Of course, Life points may still be lost as a result
of a lost Quest, the play of some Black cards,
etc... Itis only the willing sacrifice of Life points
that is denied.

3 WITCH (1 card)

Adds a Pict and a Saxon figure to their respec-
tive Wars, at once. This may cause one or both
Wars to be Tost. If need be, the consequences
of placing the Pict figure is resolved first, then
the consequences of placing the Saxon.

4" WITCH (1 card)

Each Knight immediately discards a Grail card
or loses a Life point. If a Knight has no Grail
card, then he MUST lose a Life point, even at
the peril of his life!

5t WITCH (1 card)

For the rest of the game, each false accusation
causes 2 White Swords to turn over to their Black
side on the Round Table. Just like in the regular
game, if there are no more White Swords to turn
over, the false accusation has no effect.

6" WITCH (1 card)

For the rest of the game, each Merlin card
played is permanently removed from the game,
rather than discarded.

7" WITCH (1 card)

All Knights not present on the next Quest that is
lost will immediately lose 1 Life point. The
Witch is then discarded.

Hdditional Standard
\Dbtte cards

Grail x3

FIGHT? (3 cards)

The value of this card, between 1 and
5, is set by the Knight at the time he
chooses to play it. Note that this
card, despite its unique effect, is a
Standard White card, like all other Fight cards,
not a Special White card.

Merlin x1

New Special White cards

CALL FOR HELP (1 card)
Knights may move to your Quest, at no cost, and
without drawing Travel cards. You cannot call for

CARD MHNI{’GSC

help when on a Solo Quest, but you
can leave a Solo Quest - and suffer
the consequences - to respond to a
Call for Help from a fellow Knight.

DISPEL (1 card)

Discard the permanent or semi-
permanent Special Black card (Dark
Forest, Mists of Avalon, Mordred,
Vivien and Morgan's Witches #2,

#5, #6, #7) of your choice. Can also be used, like
any other Special White card, to free up a Cap-

tured! Knight.

DIVINE FAVOR (1 card)

The next tie that occurs in the game
is broken in favor of the forces of
Good. Ifitis a tie in the number of
Black and White Swords, at game's
end, the Loyal Knights win!

DRAGON SLAYER (1 card)

Draw 3 White cards from the draw
pile. If you are on the Dragon's
Quest, you may choose to play 2
Fight cards instead (though you
could still draw 3 White cards, if you preferred).

You could thus play up to 3 Fight cards on the
Dragon's Quest during a single turn: 1 as your

Heroic action, and 2 more when playing the

Dragon Slayer after sacrificing a Life point. 1

MERLIN TO THE RESCUE (1 card) P Tt |
Immediately move Merlin's figure to “\}f‘”

the Quest of your choice. This does Y
not need to be a Quest you are cur-
rently on. It could even be a Quest “ i

that is no longerin play (Excalibur, Holy Graﬂ
Lancelot & the Dragon) so as to prevent the
placement of a Siege Engine when Black cards of
the corresponding type are drawn!

NEW HOPE (1 card)

Discard all your White cards, includ-
ing this one, to draw an equal num-
ber of new White cards from the
draw pile.

TOURNAMENT (1 card) @ip
Gain 2 Life points OR (if playing
under Squire's Challenge rules) im-
mediately make 1 Squire a Knight.
When this card is played, you do not
need to be where the Squire is, nor does the
Squire need to be in Camelot for him to become
a Knight.

TRUCE (1 card)

Ends a War of your choice (Saxon or
Pict) in a truce. All Fight cards are
discarded and all figures removed
from t, with neither camp achieving
victory. If Mordred is present, it is discarded too.

- BAELR

— e






